Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

#MRTI: 2016 Silly Season Update 1


Chris Jones

Here’s a look at where things sit in the respective Mazda Road to Indy series - Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires, Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda - for a look at what could be their grids in the 2016 seasons.

There’s plenty more cars and teams that will be announced in the new year, but here’s who is set for the time being going into the Christmas holiday.

Indy Lights

Juncos Racing - Zachary Claman Demelo, Kyle Kaiser
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports - R.C. Enerson
Andretti Autosport - Shelby Blackstock, Dalton Kellett
Carlin - Ed Jones
Belardi Auto Racing - Zach Veach (at least start of year, goal for full season)
Pelfrey - Two cars, drivers TBD

Additional testers include:
Juncos Racing - Jose Gutierrez
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports - Santiago Urrutia, James French (confirmed for Road America), Heamin Choi
McCormack Racing - Davey Hamilton Jr.

Pro Mazda

Juncos Racing - Will Owen, Nicolas Dapero, Jake Parsons, Garett Grist

Additional testers include:
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing - Nico Jamin
M1 Racing - Max Hanratty, James Dayson, Tristan DeGrand, Jay Horak
World Speed Motorsports - Bobby Eberle
JDC Motorsports - Kevin Davis
Team Pelfrey - Pato O’Ward, Henrique Baptista, Aaron Telitz


Team Pelfrey - Robert Megennis, Jordan Cane
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing - Parker Thompson
RJB Motorsports - Michai Stephens, Clint McMahan
Pabst Racing - Garth Rickards
JAY Motorsports - Driver TBA
ArmsUp Motorsports - Drivers TBA

Additional testers include:
Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing - Nikita Lastochkin, TJ Fischer, Rinus Van Kalmthout
Swan Racing - Max Mallinen
Afterburner Autosport - Trenton Estep, Kyle Kirkwood, Sting Ray Robb, Rinus Van Kalmthout, Dakota Dickerson, Oliver Askew, Chase Owen
JDC Motorsports - Cameron Hill, Tazio Ottis
Pabst Racing - Aaron Telitz, Yufeng Luo
JCR Motorsports - Andres Gutierrez
Team Pelfrey - Chase Pelletier, TJ Fischer

Follow @TonyDiZinno