Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Jurgen Klinsmann names 35-man provisional roster for 2015 Gold Cup

Chile v USA - Friendly Match

Jurgen Klinsmann, USMNT

LatinContent/Getty Images

U.S. national team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann has named his 35-man provisional roster for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

[ FOLLOW LIVE: USA vs. Germany ]

Easily the biggest surprise on the provisional roster for this summer’s Gold Cup (July 7-26) is the inclusion of defender DaMarcus Beasley, who announced his international retirement just last December, but has offered to come out of international retirement and make himself available at the continuously troubling left back spot.

Other notable inclusions which will raise some eyebrows are that of the LA Galaxy’s Alan Gordon (last called up in 2013 and has just one international cap) and Stanford University forward Jordan Morris.

[ FULL RECAP: USMNT plays the role of comeback kids against the Dutch ]

Jermaine Jones (sports hernia injury) is the biggest name left off the roster, while Stoke City defender Geoff Cameron has heeded the requests of his club team, that he not play in the Gold Cup and instead take the summer to rest various injuries ahead of the 2015-16 Premier League season. Miguel Ibarra and Gedion Zelalem are other notable hopefuls not named in the 35-man squad.

The USMNT currently has one more friendly scheduled, July 3 against Guatemala, before they kick off their Gold Cup campaign against Honduras on July 7.


Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Follow @AndyEdMLS