Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

PFA’s Premier League Team of the Year announced

Britain Soccer Premier League

Manchester City’s Nicolas Otamendi, centre, celebrates after scoring his side second goal during the English Premier League soccer match between Manchester City and Burnley at Etihad stadium, Manchester, England, Saturday, Oct. 21, 2017. (AP Photo/Rui Vieira)


The best player in each position in the Premier League has been announced by the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA).

Selected by their fellow pros, the best XI is in a 4-3-3 formation with five players from Premier League champs Manchester City included.

MORE: Ranking each Man City player out of 10
MORE: Jose Mourinho reacts to City’s title
MORE: The Opta numbers behind the title

MORE: Twitter reaction to title win

Three players from Tottenham Hotspur get the nod, while one player from each of Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool complete the lineup.

City’s representatives are Kyle Walker, Nicolas Otamendi, Kevin de Bruyne, David Silva and Sergio Aguero. Remarkably this is the first time Aguero has made the team of the year in his seven seasons in the Premier League.

Tottenham’s trio of Jan Vertonghen, Christian Eriksen and Harry Kane get the nod, while Man United’s David de Gea is in goal, Chelsea’s Marcos Alonso is at left back and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah is up top alongside Aguero and Kane.

Below is a look at the team in full, with more analysis on this right here at Pro Soccer Talk as we sought through the biggest snubs...