Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Who voted for whom in the 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or?

Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal, center, is awarded the prize for the FIFA Men’s soccer player of the year 2013 by FIFA President Sepp Blatter, right, at the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 gala at the Kongresshaus in Zurich, Switzerland, Monday, Jan. 13, 2014. (AP Photo, Keystone/Steffen Schmidt)


Clint Dempsey liked Cristiano Ronaldo as the 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or winner, so the U.S. attacker was among the big herd that ushered Portugal’s fancy forward into his second award as globe’s top player.

The Real Madrid man outdistanced fellow finalists Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery in Monday’s voting.

(MORE: Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2013 Ballon d’Or)

Former U.S. manager Bob Bradley also like Ronaldo as the choice. Ditto for LA Galaxy striker and Irish international Robbie Keane.

But U.S. manager Jurgen Klinsmann? Not so much. Ronaldo didn’t appear on the U.S. coach’s ballot (each voter lists a top three), according to the official FIFA register of voting released Monday afternoon.

Klinsmann preferred Ribery, followed by Gareth Bale and then Radamel Falcao, the talented Colombian striker, who earns his pay for Monaco in France’s Ligue 1.

Take a second to peruse the big list linked above. You might be interested, for instance, to see who Messi liked. (Hint: it wasn’t Ronaldo. In fact, Ronaldo didn’t appear on Messi’s ballot. Then again, Messi didn’t appear on Ronaldo’s ballot, either. So there.)

Follow @SteveDavis90