Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Blues score 2-0 goal vs. Bruins after missed call

A David Perron shot bounces off Tuukka Rask and in to give St. Louis a 2-0 lead. Moments before, Bruins' Noel Acciari is sent to the ice after getting tripped by Tyler Bozak, no penalty is called.

The 2-0 goal for the St. Louis Blues vs. the Boston Bruins in Game 5 of the 2019 Stanley Cup Final displayed a few tried-and-true rules:

  • This postseason can’t go very long without an officiating controversy.
  • When a player puts up his hands as if to say “What, I didn’t do anything...?,” that player probably knows that they did something.

Tyler Bozak made that gesture when he tripped/pulled a slew-foot on Noel Acciari, and to the shock of Acciari, there was no penalty call.

Moments later, the Blues took advantage of a broken play, as David Perron rifled home a controversial 2-0 goal after a pass from Ryan O’Reilly. The Boston crowd was, um, unhappy ... and NBC cameras even caught Cam Neely throwing a water bottle in anger.

This wasn’t the only polarizing call during Game 5, something people commented on even before the perceived missed call.

Chances are, Bruins head coach Bruce Cassidy will back up his amusing comments from earlier in the Stanley Cup Final, which serves as a reminder that calls went against the Blues, too.

That moment will stick in the spotlight, too, as it ended up serving as the game-winning goal for St. Louis, who won Game 5 by a score of 2-1 to take a 3-2 series lead. Read more about Game 5 here.