Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NBA sets record with 113 international players, a plurality from Canada, on opening-night rosters

San Antonio Spurs v Minnesota Timberwolves

MINNEAPOLIS, MN - NOVEMBER 21: Andrew Wiggins #22 of the Minnesota Timberwolves and Manu Ginobili #20 of the San Antonio Spurs go after a loose ball during the first quarter of the game on November 21, 2014 at Target Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Spurs defeated the Timberwolves 121-92. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Until last season, the NBA set or tied its record for number of international players on opening-night rosters the previous three years.

But after peaking at 101 in 2014-15, the number dropped to 100 last season.

A sign the league has hit its foreign saturation point?

Probably not.

The NBA boasts a record 113 international players from a record 41 countries and territories to begin this season. Canada, with 11, leads the league for the third straight year.

A count of international players in the NBA on opening night:

  • 2016-17: 113
  • 2015-16: 100
  • 2014-15: 101
  • 2013-14: 92
  • 2012-13: 84

Here’s a full list of 2016-17 international players, but before you read it, take our quizzes on opening-night rosters.

  • Argentina: Luis Scola, Brooklyn Nets
  • Argentina: Nicolas Brussino, Dallas Mavericks
  • Argentina: Nicolas Laprovittola, San Antonio Spurs
  • Argentina: Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
  • Australia: Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Australia: Andrew Bogut, Dallas Mavericks
  • Australia: Aron Baynes, Detroit Pistons
  • Australia: Matthew Dellavedova, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Australia: Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Australia: Patty Mills, San Antonio Spurs
  • Australia: Dante Exum, Utah Jazz
  • Australia: Joe Ingles, Utah Jazz
  • Austria: Jakob Poeltl, Toronto Raptors
  • Bahamas: Buddy Hield, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Jusuf Nurkic, Denver Nuggets
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Ivica Zubac, Los Angeles Lakers
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Mirza Teletovic, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Brazil: Tiago Splitter, Atlanta Hawks
  • Brazil: Cristiano Felicio, Chicago Bulls
  • Brazil: Anderson Varejao, Golden State Warriors
  • Brazil: Nene, Houston Rockets
  • Brazil: Marcelo Huertas, Los Angeles Lakers
  • Brazil: Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
  • Brazil: Bruno Caboclo, Toronto Raptors
  • Brazil: Lucas Nogueira, Toronto Raptors
  • Brazil: Raul Neto, Utah Jazz
  • Cameroon: Luc Mbah a Moute, LA Clippers
  • Cameroon: Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Cameroon: Pascal Siakam, Toronto Raptors
  • Canada: Kelly Olynyk, Boston Celtics
  • Canada: Anthony Bennett, Brooklyn Nets
  • Canada: Tristan Thompson, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Canada: Dwight Powell, Dallas Mavericks
  • Canada: Jamal Murray, Denver Nuggets
  • Canada: Tyler Ennis, Houston Rockets
  • Canada: Andrew Wiggins, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Canada: Nik Stauskas, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Canada: Cory Joseph, Toronto Raptors
  • Canada: Trey Lyles, Utah Jazz
  • Canada: Andrew Nicholson, Washington Wizards
  • Cape Verde: Walter Tavares, Atlanta Hawks
  • Congo: Serge Ibaka, Orlando Magic
  • Croatia: Bojan Bogdanovic, Brooklyn Nets
  • Croatia: Damjan Rudez, Orlando Magic
  • Croatia: Mario Hezonja, Orlando Magic
  • Croatia: Dario Saric, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Croatia: Dragan Bender, Phoenix Suns
  • Czech Republic: Tomas Satoransky, Washington Wizards
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo: Emmanuel Mudiay, Denver Nuggets
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo: Bismack Biyombo, Orlando Magic
  • Dominican Republic: Al Horford, Boston Celtics
  • France: Nicolas Batum, Charlotte Hornets
  • France: Kevin Seraphin, Indiana Pacers
  • France: Alexis Ajinca, New Orleans Pelicans
  • France: Joffrey Lauvergne, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • France: Evan Fournier, Orlando Magic
  • France: Timothe Luwawu-Cabarrot, Philadelphia 76ers
  • France: Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs
  • France: Boris Diaw, Utah Jazz
  • France: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
  • France: Ian Mahinmi, Washington Wizards
  • Georgia: Zaza Pachulia, Golden State Warriors
  • Germany: Dennis Schroder, Atlanta Hawks
  • Germany: Paul Zipser, Chicago Bulls
  • Germany: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
  • Greece: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Greece: Georgios Papagiannis, Sacramento Kings
  • Haiti: Skal Labissiere, Sacramento Kings
  • Israel: Omri Casspi, Sacramento Kings
  • Italy: Marco Belinelli, Charlotte Hornets
  • Italy: Danilo Gallinari, Denver Nuggets
  • Latvia: Kristaps Porzingis, New York Knicks
  • Latvia: Davis Bertans, San Antonio Spurs
  • Lithuania: Mindaugas Kuzminskas, New York Knicks
  • Lithuania: Domantas Sabonis, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Lithuania: Jonas Valanciunas, Toronto Raptors
  • Mali: Cheick Diallo, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Montenegro: Nikola Mirotic, Chicago Bulls
  • Montenegro: Nikola Pekovic, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Montenegro: Nikola Vucevic, Orlando Magic
  • New Zealand: Steven Adams, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Nigeria: Festus Ezeli, Portland Trail Blazers
  • Poland: Marcin Gortat, Washington Wizards
  • Puerto Rico: Jose Juan Barea, Dallas Mavericks
  • Russia: Timofey Mozgov, Los Angeles Lakers
  • Senegal: Gorgui Dieng, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Senegal: Maurice Ndour, New York Knicks
  • Serbia: Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
  • Serbia: Boban Marjanovic, Detroit Pistons
  • Serbia: Nemanja Bjelica, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Slovenia: Beno Udrih, Detroit Pistons
  • Slovenia: Goran Dragic, Miami Heat
  • Slovenia: Sasha Vujacic, New York Knicks
  • South Sudan: Luol Deng, Los Angeles Lakers
  • South Sudan: Thon Maker, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Spain: Juancho Hernangomez, Denver Nuggets
  • Spain: Jose Calderon, Los Angeles Lakers
  • Spain: Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies
  • Spain: Ricky Rubio, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Spain: Guillermo Hernangomez, New York Knicks
  • Spain: Alex Abrines, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Spain: Sergio Rodriguez, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Spain: Pau Gasol, San Antonio Spurs
  • Sweden: Jonas Jerebko, Boston Celtics
  • Switzerland: Thabo Sefolosha, Atlanta Hawks
  • Switzerland: Clint Capela, Houston Rockets
  • Tunisia: Salah Mejri, Dallas Mavericks
  • Turkey: Omer Asik, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Turkey: Enes Kanter, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Turkey: Ersan Ilyasova, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Ukraine: Alex Len, Phoenix Suns
  • Ukraine: Joel Bolomboy, Utah Jazz
  • Venezuela: Greivis Vasquez, Brooklyn Nets