Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Hall of Fame basically says Tracy McGrady never won a playoff series, also nominates Ben Wallace and Muggsy Bogues

McGrady shoots

AUBURN HILLS, MI - MAY 4: Tracy McGrady #1 of the Orlando Magic shoots over Ben Wallace #3 of the Detroit Pistons in Game seven of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals during the 2003 NBA Playoffs at The Palace of Auburn Hills on May 4, 2003 in Auburn Hills, Michigan. The Pistons won 108-93. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Tom Pidgeon/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The Basketball Hall of Fame altered its eligibility rules last year – allowing players to be nominated four, rather than five, years after their last game.

But Tracy McGrady’s last NBA game came just three years ago. He signed with the Spurs on the final day of the 2012-13 regular season, didn’t play in the finale, but played spot minutes in San Antonio’s Finals run.

His last regular-season game was four years ago, though. Apparently, that’s good enough for the Hall.

McGrady joins Ben Wallace and Muggsy Bogues as first-time nominees for the Basketball Hall of Fame.

By nominating McGrady this year, the Hall essentially ruled his time with the Spurs didn’t count. Why are those 31 playoff minutes significant? That was the only time McGrady won a playoff series. An excellent regular-season player, that complete lack of postseason success will hinder his candidacy. When teams clamped down, McGrady had no answer.

Still, I’d lean toward enshrining McGrady. He made seven All-NBA teams while carrying a huge offensive burden and maintaining efficiency (again, during the regular season).

I’d also lean toward inducting Wallace, a four-time Defensive Player of the Year. His peak is undervalued. At his best, he was the NBA’s third-best player behind Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett. (Shaquille O’Neal was between stretches of motivation, and Kobe Bryant hadn’t yet learned how to lead a team.) Though 16 NBA seasons is a nice run, too many of those after his prime were underwhelming.

Bogues? A 5-foot-3 player flourishing in the NBA is a tremendous accomplishment. But there’s a reason he’s getting his first nomination 15 years after retirement. He’s not close to Hall-of-Fame caliber.

Here’s the full list of nominees:


* Indicates First-Time Nominee

North American Committee Nominations

  • Mark Aguirre (PLA)

  • Geese Ausbie (PLA)

  • Bill Bertka (COA)

  • Muggsy Bogues (PLA)*

  • Junior Bridgeman (PLA)

  • Irv Brown (REF)

  • Maurice Cheeks (PLA)

  • Terry Cummings (PLA)

  • Charles “Lefty” Driesell (COA)

  • Hugh Evans (REF)

  • Bill Fitch (COA)

  • Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)

  • Tim Hardaway (PLA)

  • Del Harris (COA)

  • Robert Hughes (COA)

  • Kevin Johnson (PLA)

  • Marques Johnson (PLA)

  • Bobby Jones (PLA)

  • Jerry “Tiger” Jones (COA)

  • Gene Keady (COA)

  • Rollie Massimino (COA)

  • Tracy McGrady (PLA)*

  • Gary McKnight (COA)

  • Danny Miles (COA)

  • Sidney Moncrief (PLA)

  • Dick Motta (COA)

  • Swen Nater (PLA)

  • Jake O’Donnell (REF)*

  • Jim Phelan (COA)*

  • Mark Price (PLA)

  • Jere Quinn (COA)*

  • Glenn Robinson (COA)

  • Lee Rose (COA)

  • Bo Ryan (COA)

  • Bob Saulsbury (COA)*

  • Bill Self (COA)*

  • Jack Sikma (PLA)

  • Steve Smith (COA)

  • Fred Snowden (COA)

  • Harry Statham (COA)*

  • Eddie Sutton (COA)

  • Rudy Tomjanovich (COA)

  • Ben Wallace (PLA)*

  • Chris Webber (PLA)

  • Paul Westphal (PLA)

Women’s Committee Nominations

  • Leta Andrews (COA)

  • Jennifer Azzi (PLA)

  • Rebecca Lobo (PLA)

  • Muffet McGraw (COA)

  • Susie McConnell (PLA)

  • Pearl Moore (PLA)

  • Kim Mulkey (COA, PLA)

  • Harley Redin (COA)

  • Theresa Shank (PLA)

  • Marianne Stanley (COA)

  • Barbara Stevens (COA)

  • Wayland Baptist (TEA)

  • Therea Weatherspoon (PLA)

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations

  • Clarence “Puggy” Bell

  • Sonny Boswell

  • Zack Clayton

  • Chuck Cooper

  • Bill Garrett

  • Inman Jackson

  • Clarence “Fats” Jenkins

  • Bucky Lew

  • Davage “Dave” Minor

  • Hudson Oliver

  • Al “Runt” Pullins

  • James “Pappy” Ricks

  • Paul Robeson

  • Eyre Saitch

  • William “Wee Willie” Smith

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY International Committee Nominations

  • Tal Brody

  • Jackie Chazalon

  • Vlade Divac

  • Nick Galis

  • Semen Khalipski

  • Vladimir Kondrashin

  • Toni Kukoc

  • Marcos Leite

  • Aldo Ossola

  • Amaury Pasos

  • Dino Radja

  • Manuel Sainz

  • Togo Soares

  • Ranko Zeravica

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Contributor Committee Nominations

  • Marv Albert

  • Al Attles

  • Dick Baumgartner*

  • Marty Blake

  • Vic Bubas

  • Wayne Duke

  • David Falk*

  • Harry Glickman

  • Marty Glickman

  • Curt Gowdy

  • Tim Grgurich

  • Robert Indiana*

  • Mannie Jackson

  • Tom Jernstedt

  • Johnny “Red” Kerr

  • John Kline

  • Red Klotz

  • Jerry Krause

  • Bobby Lewis*

  • Jack McCloskey

  • Johnny Most

  • Dennis Murphy

  • Joe O’Toole

  • Billy Packer

  • Dee Rowe*

  • Zelda Spoelstra

  • Jim Valvano

  • Donnie Walsh

  • Frank Walsh

DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY Veterans Committee Nominations

  • 1936 US Olympic Team (TEA)

  • 1964 State Department Basketball Ambassadors (TEA)

  • Ron Boone (PLA)

  • Sid Borgia (REF)*

  • Carl Braun (PLA)

  • Frank Brian (PLA)

  • Joe Caldwell (PLA)

  • Mack Calvin (PLA)

  • Charles Eckman (REF)

  • Leroy Edwards (PLA)

  • Leo Ferris (CONT)

  • Clarence “Bevo” Francis (PLA)

  • Buck Freeman (COA)

  • Donnie Freeman (PLA)

  • Travis Grant (PLA)

  • Bob Grody (PLA)

  • Robert Harrison (PLA)

  • Flo Harvey (PLA)

  • Dick Hemric (PLA)*

  • Cam Henderson (COA)

  • Robert Hopkins (PLA)

  • Lou Hudson (PLA)

  • Warren Jabali (PLA)

  • Jimmy Jones (PLA)

  • Charles Kenaith (PLA)*

  • Freddie Lewis (PLA)

  • Jim Loscutoff (PLA)

  • Loyola of Chicago (TEA)

  • Billy Markward (CONT)*

  • George McGinnis (PLA)

  • Ray Mears (COA)*

  • Francis Meehan (PLA)

  • Donald “Dudey” Moore (COA)

  • Willie Naulls (PLA)

  • Philadelphia SPHAS (TEA)

  • Mel Riebe (PLA)

  • Glenn Roberts (PLA)

  • Holcombe Rucker (CONT)

  • Kenny Sailors (PLA)

  • Fred Schaus (PLA)*

  • Charlie Scott (PLA)

  • Kenny Sears (PLA)

  • Frank Selvy (PLA)

  • George Senesky (PLA)

  • Paul Seymour (PLA)

  • Charles Siler (CONT)

  • Talvin Skinner (PLA)

  • Ken Suesens (PLA)

  • Tennessee A&I (TEA)

  • Dick Van Arsdale (PLA)

  • Tom Van Arsdale (PLA)

  • Willie Wise (PLA)

  • Max Zaslofsky (PLA)