Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Goaltender David Leggio knocks own net off again to avoid breakaway (Video)

Screen Shot 2017-12-09 at 11.35.53 AM

It is my duty to inform you all that goaltender David Leggio is at it again.

You might remember Leggio for one of two things. First, he does a wicked good Pierre McGuire impression. Really. It’s quite accurate.

Secondly, it was three years ago that Leggio, then with the American Hockey League’s Bridgeport Sound Tigers, ended an opponents’ 2-on-0 in unique fashion. Rather than attempt to stop the odd-man rush with a save, he simply turned around and purposely dislodged his own net, stopping play.

The Springfield Falcons were awarded a penalty shot, which Leggio stopped. Simple math, right? A 1-on-0 is better than a 2-on-0.

The defensive technique wasn’t lost on Leggio Friday night as he played for EHC Red Bull München of the Deutsche Eishockey Liga during a 5-2 win over the Fischtown Pinguins.

As Ross Mauermann skated in on a breakaway, Leggio, whose teammates were well-aware of his previous manner of defusing an odd-man rush, did it again.

When it happened in the AHL, the league quickly moved to tweak the rule in place and make it so a game misconduct was given to any goaltender who tried to pull a Leggio. The DEL currently has no such rule, but you can bet that’s going to be discussed very soon.


Sean Leahy is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @Sean_Leahy.