Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Montreal’s Pacioretty awarded Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Max Pacioretty

Montreal Canadiens’ Max Pacioretty (67) celebrates with teammates as he returns to the bench after his second-period goal during an NHL hockey game against the Pittsburgh Penguins in Pittsburgh, Friday, Jan. 20, 2012. The Penguins won 5-4 in a shootout. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar)


Montreal Canadiens forward Max Pacioretty has won the 2012 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.”

Pacioretty staged a heroic comeback after suffering a fractured vertebrae and a severe concussion on a Zdeno Chara hit in Mar. 2011. After missing the remainder of the regular season and playoffs, Pacioretty came back with aplomb in 2011-12, setting career highs in goals (33), assists (32), points (65), game-winning goals (five) and shots on goal (286).

The Connecticut native also put himself in the history books by becoming the first American-born player to score 30 goals for the Canadiens.

Pacioretty edged out Ottawa’s Daniel Alfredsson and Toronto’s Joffrey Lupul for the award.

Past Masterton Winners

2011 Ian Laperriere (Philadelphia)
2010 Jose Theodore (Washington)
2009 Steve Sullivan (Nashville)
2008 Jason Blake (Toronto)
2007 Phil Kessel (Boston)
2006 Teemu Selanne (Anaheim)