Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Poll: Who will win the 2012 Ted Lindsay Award?

Daniel Sedin Lindsay

As mentioned earlier, the NHLPA has announced its finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award: New York’s Henrik Lundqvist, Pittsburgh’s Evgeni Malkin and Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos.

The Lindsay is a unique award in that it’s the only one voted on by the players themselves. Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson, the Lindsay is named after Hockey Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay, who was instrumental in forming the NHLPA back in the 1950s.

Some things to consider:

-- The Pearson/Lindsay and Hart Trophies have not always gone hand-in-hand. Last year, Vancouver’s Daniel Sedin won the Lindsay while Anaheim’s Corey Perry won the Hart. In 2009-10, Washington’s Alex Ovechkin won the Lindsay while Vancouver’s Henrik Sedin won the Hart.

-- That said, most consider the Pearson/Lindsay to be a companion of the Hart, and with good reason. Thirteen players have won both in the same season: Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Mark Messier, Brett Hull, Sergei Fedorov, Eric Lindtros, Dominik Hasek, Joe Sakic, Jaromir Jagr, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby and Ovechkin.

-- Ovechkin is the only player in NHL history to complete the Hart-Pearson-Art Ross-Richard trophy sweep.

Anyway, here’s the poll...

[polldaddy poll=6192615]